business logo

Call Us!

San Diego Museum of Art

The San Diego Museum of Art is a beautiful art museum located at 1450 El Prado in Balboa Park in San Diego, California, that has a large and unique collection of Spanish art. The San Diego Museum of Art opened as the Fine Arts Gallery of San Diego on February 28, 1926, and changed its name to the San Diego Museum of Art in 1978. The Balboa Park website calls the San Diego Museum of Art “the oldest and largest art museum in the region.” Almost half a million people visit the museum every year.   The museum was designed by architects William Templeton Johnson and Robert W. Snyder in the Plateresque style to match the current architecture from the Panama-California exhibition of 1915. The main part of the facade is a beautiful entrance door that was designed as the entrance to the University of Salamanca. The Valladolid Cathedral also influenced the museum’s exterior, and the architects created the interior design of the Santa Cruz Hospital in Toledo, Spain. HVAC San Diego King


The museum’s encyclopedic collection, with exhibits ranging from 5000 BC to 2012 AD. The museum’s strength lies in the Spanish works of Murillo, Zurbarán, Cotán, Ribera, and El Greco. Sisters Anne, Amy, and Irene Putnam donated much of the master’s antique museum collection. The first significant purchase of the museum was the purchase of El Marques de Sofraga in 1939 by Francisco Goya, which had until then belonged to a private family collection and had never been in public. The Putnam Sisters provided financial support for the purchase. The following year, director Reginald Poland acquired Giovanni Bellini’s paintings for the museum’s collection. Then, in 1941, the museum bought Diego Velázquez’s painting of the Infanta Margarita of Spain, which may have been the subject of his larger picture in Vienna. Other notable contributors during the museum’s first quarter century were Archer M. Huntington and Mr. and Mrs. Henry Timken. Their small works are in the nearby Timken Museum of Art, which was established in 1965. In 2012, the museum acquired 48 German Expressionist paintings, drawings, and prints from artists in various, including Otto Dix, Egon Schiele, and Alexej von Jawlensky. Gabriele Münter and Gustav Klimt from the collection of Vance E. London and his wife, Elisabeth Ginsberg.

Restaurants are nearby

  • The Kebab Shop is located at 630 Ninth Ave, San Diego, CA
  • Dobson’s Bar & Restaurant is located at 956 Broadway Cir, San Diego, California
  • CUCINA is located at 505 Laurel St, San Diego, California

Discover other areas like Torrey Pine State Natural Reserve